The Best FIFA Football Awards 2016

The winners of The Best FIFA Football Awards 2016 will be determined through a combined voting process, in which 50 per cent of the decision is based on the votes of captains and head coaches from national teams all around the globe. The other 50 per cent is split between an online public ballot of football fans, and submissions from a selected group of media representatives from all around the world.


Best Player Nominees (Man and Women)

The three nominees for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016, in alphabetical order, are: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid) and Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona). Meanwhile, Melanie Behringer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Carli Lloyd (USA/Houston Dash) and Marta (Brazil/FC Rosengård) are in the running for The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016.

Best Coach Nominees (Man and Woman)

The candidates for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016 and The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016 have also been announced. In alphabetical order, the contenders are: Claudio Ranieri (Italy/Leicester City), Fernando Santos (Portugal/Portuguese national team) and Zinedine Zidane (France/Real Madrid) for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016 award, and Jill Ellis (USA/US national team), Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team) and Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team) for The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016 award.

Nominees Puskás Award

The three nominees for The FIFA Puskás Award 2016 for the “most beautiful goal of the season” have also been announced. The three goals still in the race are Marlone (Brazil/Corinthians), Daniuska Rodriguez (Venezuela/Venezuelan under-17 women’s national team) and Mohd Faiz Subri (Malaysia/Penang).


Final Result


Cristiano Ronaldo’s win was all but a foregone conclusion, but he lifts the trophy for the first time, his fourth Player of the Year award. He beat out Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi for the honors.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Carli LLOYD

USWNT legend Carli Lloyd wins her second straight FIFA’s Best Woman Player award. She beats out Olympic gold medalist Melanie Behringer of Germany and five-time winner Marta of Brazil.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Claudio RANIERI

Claudio Ranieri and his Leicester shocked the world in 2016, going from relegation candidates to English Premier League champions. It’s no surprise he won best coach, beating out Fernando Santos and Zinedine Zidane in the process.

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Silvia NEID

Silvia Neid just stepped down as manager of the German team after 11 years in charge, and she walked away with an Olympic gold medal. She’s won FIFA’s top coach of the year award and deservedly takes the Best FIFA Women’s Coach honors ahead of Jill Ellis and Pia Sundhage.

PUSKÁS AWARD: Mohd Faiz bin Subri

Malaysia’s Mohd Faiz Subri wins the FIFA Puskás award for his incredible dipping, swerving, and possibly magic free kick. He beat out finalists Marlone and Daniuska Rodriguez to take home the honor.


The FIFA Award for and outstanding Career: FALCAO

Fair Play Award: Atletico Nacional



The 55 player shortlist was announced on 1 December 2016.

The players chosen included Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer. Defenders: Dani Alves, Gerard Piqué, Sergio Ramos, and Marcelo. Midfielders: Luka Modrić, Toni Kroos and Andrés Iniesta, and Forwards: Lionel Messi, Luis Suárez, and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Tags : Article